Sony Hawaii Open Betting Guide

Every January, 144 of the world’s top professional golfers participate in the Hawaii Open golf tournament. Also known as the Sony Open, the tournament is presently the second event on the prestigious PGA Tour schedule and is part of the Tour’s FedEx Cup series.

The golf tournament has become the largest charity event in Hawaii, with over $7 million dollars donated to charitable organisations since 1999. The 2009 Sony Open in Hawaii will be held from 12 to 18 January 2009, at the Waialae Country Club in Oahu, Hawaii. The purse for the Hawaii Open 2009 stood at a whopping $5.4 million dollars, of which the winner Zach Johnson took home $972,000.

Hawaii Open Winners

Hawaii Open history starts as early as 1928. However, the modern-day tournament dates back to 1965, when the Hawaii Open became part of the PGA Tour. Zach Johnson won the 2009 Sony Hawaii Open and his 4th PGA title at the event with a total of 265. K.J Choi of South Korea won the 2008 Sony Open in Hawaii, Choi became the third player in the history of the event to complete each round of the tournament in leading position. The winner of the Sony Open in Hawaii in 2007 was Paul Goydos, who secured his first PGA title after eleven years with a remarkable one-shot victory. Other famous golfers who have won the Hawaii Open golf tournament include Jack Nicklaus – considered by many to be the greatest professional golfer of all time, Lee Trevino, Billy Casper, and Ben Crenshaw. Ernie Els, also known as “The Big Easy” for his imposing stature and elegant swing, won the event in both 2003 and 2004.

For details of all the Hawaii Open results dating back to 1990, view a list of previous Hawaii Open winners.