Hawaii Open Winners

Sony Open Final Round Paul Goydos holds the winner's trophy with Miss Hawaii 2006

KJ Choi took the title at the 2008 Hawaii Open and also became the third player in the history of the golf tournament to complete each round in leading position.

The 2007 Sony Open in Hawaii saw a surprise win by California-born Paul Goydos, who took four birdies on the back nine and broke a three-way tie with Charles Howell III and Luke Donald for a one-shot victory. This marked the first win in a PGA event by Goydos since 1996, when he took the Bay Hill Invitational. The victory pushed Goydos into the top 50 in the Official World Gold Rankings. It also earned him a Champion’s purse of $936,000 and 4,500 FedExCup points.

Top Five Scores for 2008:

  • KJ Choi: -14
  • Rory Sabbatini: -11
  • Jerry Kelly: -10
  • Steve Stricker: -8
  • Pat Perez: -8

South Korean KJ Choi has stacked up a total of seven PGA tour wins, including the 2008 Hawaii Open,  Tampa Bay Classic and the Compaq Classic of New Orleans in 2002, the Chrysler Classic Tournament of Greensboro in 2005, the Chrysler Championship in 2006, and the Memorial Tournament and the AT&T National in 2007. The defending champion is a likely favourite for the 2009 Sony Hawaii Open.

Rory Sabbatini has a total of four PGA wins from 2000-2007: the Air Canada Championship, FBR Capital Open, Nissan Open and the Crowne Plaza Invitational and Colonial.  The South African born player was also the runner up at the 2008 Hawaii Open.

American Golfer Jerry Kelly won the Hawaii Open back in 2002 and has only claimed one other PGA title since, the  Advil Western Open.

Charles Howell III has won two PGA Tour titles – the Michelob Championship at Kingsmill and the 2007 Nissan Open, where he narrowly bet Phil Mickelson. Charles Howell III has featured in the top 15 of the Official World Golf Rankings.

English golfer Luke Donald has featured in the top 15 over 2006 and 2007, and reached the highest ranking as a European golfer. His PGA wins include the 2002 Southern Farms Bureau Classic and the 2006 Honda Classic Golf Tournament.

Doug LaBelle II, winner of the 2006 Price Cutter Charity Championship, qualified for the 2007 PGA Tour season by ranking 15th on the 2006 Nationwide Tour money list.

Hawaii Open Winners: 1990 – 2008

Year Winner Score Runner up Score
1999 Jeff Sluman 271 Davis Love III
Jeff Maggert
Len Mattiace
Chris Perry
Tommy Tolles
2000 Paul Azinger 261 Stuart Appleby 268
2001 Brad Faxon 260 Tom Lehman 264
2002 Jerry Kelly 266 John Cook 267
2003 Ernie Els 264 Aaron Baddeley 264
2004 Ernie Els 262 Harrison Frazar 262
2005 Vijay Singh 269 Ernie Els 270
2006 David Toms 261 Chad Campbell
Rory Sabbatini
2007 Paul Goydos 266 Charles Howell III
Luke Donald
2008 KJ Choi 266 Rory Sabbatini 269

In Hawaii Open history, a total of four players have won the tournament more than once – Ernie Els (2003 and 2004), Lanny Wadkins (1988 and 1991), Corey Pavin (1986 and 1987) and Hubert Green (1978 and 1979).